Wordsmiths

 

“I don’t do too much blogging
I just run the town, I don’t do too much jogging”

Jay-Z

I had some inspiration to blog it up.  I had a very impactful ‘bringing of heads together’ today, and while the details probably would verge on TMI (too much information), it suffices that I say that the juices have started flowing in the brain space.  This is not in light of some confidence boost or any achievement on my part but rather having to take a hard look at some things about myself.  I’ve always said that the people who can disagree with me and express non-aggressively the nature of their contrariness to me, we can build a true friendship.  Well, my bluff was called, there is a little insidious part of myself that needs to be checked, and today I am much more aware of it and this realization has me with the writing itch.

This blog is for the wordsmiths.  Poetry, yeah it still exists, but we used to appreciate our poets.  Maybe we still do, rap artists are the poets we give the notoriety nowadays.  I don’t believe this to be a misled notion, while no doubt there are probably plenty of good poets out there writing profound stuff, there just isn’t a medium for the material to become very well known or have impact.  Or rather, we as consumers don’t flock to the forums poets are using.  Maybe we just aren’t as literarily sophisticated.  But I’m here to say, the dying art of a poems impact is overstated, in our modern time it lives on lyrically.

I used to swear off hip-hop and rap.  Remember the joke, what do u get with country and rap…CRAP!  Well, it’s not true.  Then came forth the rap witch doctors of the underground and my mind opened, my rigidness was made more flexible.  This group was called Swollen Members, the album was their pinnacle achievement “Bad Dreams” .  The clever wit in wordplay began to pop out to me, and the moody beats conjured up the novel emotions you look for when finding new music.

“We always stand guard over the late shift
The cause and effect of the light and the mist
In the world of mixtapes and other sick breaks,
I spit like my life depends on what I make”

Prev One

There is a lot of false bravado in hip hop, but there is this urgency and a raw honesty, like you get down to your survival instincts, your confidence intertwined with your insecurity and you throw it down on a piece of paper.  Testosterone flies but dudes also get REAL with the audience.  Need go no further then Eminems rehab anthem ‘Recovery’, which for anyone struggling or having conquered addiction, this should be a standard of inspiration and triumph.

this excerpt isn’t from ‘Recovery’, but just an example of Em’s individual genius

“I told the world, one day I would pay it back.
Say it on tape and lay it, record it, so that one day I could play it back.
But I don’t even know if I believe it when I’m saying that.
Doubt startin’ to creep in, everyday it’s just so grey and black.
Hope, I just need a ray of that
‘Cause no one sees my vision
When I play it for ’em, they just say it’s whack.
But they don’t know what dope is.
And I don’t know if I was awake or asleep when I wrote this.”

eminem from “I need a Doctor”

Anyone who goes through that process of creating art, you know that feeling of the disconnect between you and the receiver of the message.  But it’s important we shut that inner critic up and try, because great things have come out from those who did.

PEACE

7 thoughts on “Wordsmiths

  1. I understand your point, but I have a different conception. Poetry is created by the masses and understood by few. Because you like Poe doesn’t presuppose you have an affinity for Shakespeare. The two are on almost opposite ends of the spectrum.
    Although I genuinely appreciate the expressiveness and creative environment that rap allows, it is not the sole outlet of poetry in our society today.

    There is no Dead Poet’s Society hiding in caves and staving off classical poetry; no, there is poetry all around us, but no one seems to care anymore.
    I would submit that poetry, much like beautiful literature, sometimes goes unnoticed. You write a blog; how many people know? Has our society become so expressive that a solitary voice is drowned by dissonance? I think so.

    I think we might have to look for the good stuff and personally, I’m okay with that.

    • I think we actually agree, my point was it still exists in profundity in many places, but it’s not of great impact. Although rap has it’s sticks in the mud, we should appreciate that quality rap stands on its lyrical content more than any other genre, and that it is the widest reaching medium for “poetry” today.

      • I can certainly appreciate it as an artistic outlet and a great supporter of poetic expression. I was merely stating how it’s sad that the other poetic outlets are getting less attention.

  2. I always knew rap music was very much like poetry, but sometimes bad poetry of rappers seemingly trying to rhyme. However, there are some rap artists and albums I truly do appreciate. I remember learning about Langston Hughes in a college course and I thought this is where rap began, huh! Maybe if I went on the street corner and started to rap my poetry it would get people’s attention more. Haha, that would be interesting! Ultimately, poetry is a tool to express myself with, a translation of my emotions and thoughts in the most simplest concise format, yet can be a riddle, mystery, or thinker at the same time. Simply being able to write it gratifies me.

    • Not all poetry rhymes of course, in fact I would argue that the best poetry doesn’t rhyme– flow is much more important than rhyme scheme. In all honesty, I am not a huge fan of manipulated word pronunciations and aggressive attempts to rhyme when there is no reason other than a beat.
      I definitely agree that you’d get more recognition if you rapped your poetry, but you could just as easily sing it. If you want to really make an impression though, you go to some busy intersection and throb violently as you scream and plead and yell and whisper and breathe poetry. And then you go home.
      But with so many things, and as you mentioned, its purpose is personal. So I guess only you can decide how your poetry is presented, after all it is a reflection of who you are.

Leave a Reply

